top of page

Pledge


I have lived my life thus far rooting myself down to a state of mind that I have kept adding onto as I grew older each day.

Life has proven itself to be a magnificent tidal wave, and so I’ve grasped on to every wonder its waters splashed my way. Sometimes they were beautiful pearls, the brightest of corals, starfish that almost look like they’ve fallen from the skies. Other times; however… stingrays, poisonous plants, dangerous sea monsters. Either way, the thing to remember is that I am still living through it all, so I keep grasping on, the salty water spritzing my face.

This state of mind is the result of countless encounters, numerous moments, and an abundance of sleepless nights. Nights when I have looked up at ceilings of all colors in different rooms, either from worry, happiness, fear, excitement, or every other emotion you can think of. Regardless of what emotion I had been feeling at the time, it was my own thoughts that kept me up. That voice in my head that only I could hear that told me stories. Oddly enough, the voice I hear in my head is not my own. It might be a figment of my imagination, a voice I’d created for the sole purpose of hearing my thoughts being recounted by a “stranger”, not realizing the stranger would become my own best friend. It was that voice that started with the building blocks of my state of mind. Be kind, it said. Be generous when you can, be pleasant; be respectful of others, smile at every chance you get.

That’s how it began when I was a child.

As I grew older, I started helping “My voice” build up my state of mind. Be grateful when you know you should be, you know when that will be. Help others as best as you can, you never know when you might be in need of help yourself. Spread the positive vibes flowing within you, make it contagious; people must be going through their own trials so try and make it easier for them. Be strong because the tides are becoming higher, you’ll need all the strength and courage you can muster. Pick yourself up if you fall apart, people are dependent on you; you have to get up. Laugh. Laugh. Laughter heals the heart and soul, so laugh as much as you can. Dreams are as close to magic as we can get, so dream. Aim up high, don’t be scared, but if you are afraid then it’s ok. You’ll over analyze everything anyway so go right ahead. Fear is not a thing to be ashamed of, nor is sadness; cry if you must. Let the tears wash away some of your fatigue. Love the people that surround you, they are your chosen family. Be kind-to everyone, but also to yourself. Be generous, be pleasant, be respectful, and smile at everyone-and to yourself. It was important to start remembering myself in every equation.

And so the pledge to myself started to look fuller and feel heavier as it anchored me down.

I pledged to become the best human being I know and am learning how to be. I pledge to live fully and free spiritedly all the days of life, even through tribulations. I pledge to spread joy wherever I step foot into. I pledge to love full heartedly, especially those who truly chase after my well-being. I pledge to breathe in all the courage and exhale my fears. To stand tall (as tall as five feet can take a girl), and be proud of whom I’m becoming. I pledge to see my dreams through because I owe them that much. I pledge to continue to explore the wonders the world has to offer still.

I pledge so many pledges, and they continue to be added to my list.

I am but a drifting soul on this planet. We all are. Remember that your life will keep going no matter how you choose to take it. It’s up to you to decide which pledge to act upon. That the mark you leave amongst up when it’s all said and done.

Until next time

Maha

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me Around
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • LinkedIn Clean
  • Pinterest Clean
bottom of page